top of page

Tour Book by Rachel Pfennig Hales



Hi, I’m Rachel Pfennig Hales. I’m a writer-turned-roadie, and back. Chasing my theatre-kid dreams, I ended up spending my early career touring the world as part of the production crews for both the Black Eyed Peas and Lynyrd Skynyrd. It has been over ten years since I put on my first tour credential and was welcomed backstage. Concert touring is a fast-paced, grit-loving industry demanding flexibility, creative thinking, and quick decisions. We have to be easy-going yet full speed, all at once. On tour, I discovered one of the most passionate communities I’ve known, with some of the most interesting stories.

Favorite quotation: “Work hard, be kind and amazing things can happen.”

These stories exist in a world just out of the spotlight, but they deserve to be told. I began writing my own tour stories, then gained the courage to start asking others. I’m humbled at how generously and boldly others agreed to share their experiences. After 6 years of interviews, and earning my MFA in the process, TOUR BOOK strives to show a glimpse of this quiet yet fierce society, through the perspective of those who have lived it.

This is not a book about rock stars. This is not a book about tabloid tales (though trust me, I was asked if I could write that book more than once.) This isn’t even about a single tour. To me, the story to stay focused on was quieter than all that and had more soul. At times, it did feel like I might be passing opportunities by not shifting that spotlight, which was challenging. Honestly, the mental hurdles of publishing as a writer should be celebrated more often. What we do is hard and vulnerable and scary. But, still, we keep going.

Dozens of touring professionals, from several different tours, were interviewed throughout this project. These roadies shared moments from their standard show days, technical jobs, and extensive careers. This is their book, too. I felt an obligation to see it through.

TOUR BOOK is a creative nonfiction narrative celebrating community, hard work, and rock ’n roll. I have grown to love the creative and challenging work that goes into creating live events. This is my community. This is my workplace, and at times, has been my address. While we usually aim to remain behind the scenes, it’s time to celebrate the industry that can bring the spectacular to life.

Follow her on Twitter


bottom of page